Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors Nominating Committee Meeting Minutes

1917 S. Interstate 35 Austin, Texas 78741 Thursday, August 10, 2023 9:30 a.m Central Time

1. Preliminary Matters (Sina K. Nejad, P.E., P. Eng., Chair)

A. Call To Order

Dr. Sina K. Nejad, P.E., P. Eng., Chair, called the Nominating Committee meeting of the Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors to order at 9:30 a.m.. (NOTE: all votes are unanimous unless noted.)

B. Roll Call

Mr. Sims called the roll. It was noted for the record that a quorum was present.

The following Committee members were present:

Sina K. Nejad, P.E., P. Eng. Chair Rolando Rubiano, P.E. Member Kiran Shah, Public Member

Ms. Kelley, Assistant Attorney General and General Counsel for the Board, was present via Videoconference to provide legal counsel to the Board.

The following staff members were present:

Lance Kinney, Ph.D., P.E. Executive Director (appeared via Zoom)
Rick Strong, P.E. Director of Licensing and Registration
Michael Sims, P.E. Director of Compliance and Enforcement

Elissa Mazza Staff Attorney

Ed Brannan, P.E. Technical Engineering Specialist

Jeff Rodriguez Board Staff Julia Estrada Board Staff

C. Excuse Absent Committee Members

No committee members were absent.

D. Welcome Visitors

Ademola Adejokun, P.E., Board Member; Lamberto Balli, P.E., Advisory Member, Coleen Johnson, R.P.L.S., Board Member; Mark Neugebauer, R.P.L.S., L.S.L.S., Board Member; Catherine Norwood, P.E., Board Member; Marguerite

McClinton-Stoglin, Ph.D., Board Member; Scott Stewart, ACEC Texas, Jon Hodde, R.P.L.S., Advisory Member; Govind Nadkarni, P.E., Board Advisory Member, Davey Edwards, R.P.L.S., L.S.L.S., Advisory Member; Mitch Brackin, Fittz & Shipman; and Colby Brackin, S.I.T. and C.F.M. were present.

E. Public Comments -

There were no public comments.

2. Nomination of Board Officers for Fiscal Year 2024

It was MOVED/SECONDED (Rubiano/Shah) to recommend to the full Board at the Regular Quarterly Board meeting on August 10, 2023, to approve the following Board members as Board Officers for Fiscal Year 2024:

Ademola Adejokun, P.E. – Vice-Chair Kiran Shah – Treasurer Albert Cheng – Secretary

3. Renewal Contract of Current Advisory Members for Fiscal Year 2024

It was MOVED/SECONDED (Rubiano/Shah) to recommend to the full Board at the Regular Quarterly Board meeting on August 10, 2023, to approve the following Advisory Members for Fiscal Year 2024:

- Lamberto Balli, P.E.
- William Edwards, Ph.D., R.P.L.S., L.S.L.S.
- Edmundo González, P.E., R.P.L.S.
- Jon Hodde, R.P.L.S.
- Govind Nadkarni, P.E.

4. Future Committee meetings: Agenda items, dates, locations, and other arrangements.

No issues were presented or addressed for consideration at the next Committee meeting.

5. Adjourn

Date Board approved minutes: November 9, 2023