Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors Nominating Committee Meeting August 08, 2024 10:00 am Central Time

Physical Meeting Location: Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 1917 S. Interstate 35 Austin, TX 78741

Discuss and Possibly Act on the Following Agenda Items:

- 1. Preliminary Matters Presiding Officer
 - a. Call to Order

Dr. Sina K. Nejad, P.E., P. Eng., Chair, called the Nominating Committee meeting of the Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors to order at 10:03 a.m. (NOTE: all votes are unanimous unless noted.)

b. Roll Call

Ms. Trevino called the roll. It was noted for the record that a quorum was present.

The following Committee members were present:

Sina K. Nejad, P.E., P. Eng. Chair Ademola Adejokun, P.E. Member

Mr. Steven Ogle, Assistant Attorney General and General Counsel for the Board, was present via Videoconference to provide legal counsel to the Board.

The following staff members were present:

Lance Kinney, Ph.D., P.E.	Executive Director
Rick Strong, P.E.	Director of Licensing and Registration
Michael Sims, P.E.	Director of Compliance and Enforcement
Ed Brannan, P.E.	Technical Engineering Specialist
Brian Waltman, P.E.	Technical Engineering Specialist
Jeff Mutscher	Chief Financial Officer
Odilia Trevino	Executive Administrator
Elissa Mazza	Staff Attorney (via Zoom)
Mason Schoolfield	Director of Operations (via Zoom)

c. Excuse Absent Committee Members

It was MOVED/SECONDED (Nejad/Adejokun) to excuse committee member Dr. Marguerite McClinton-Stoglin.

A vote was taken, and the MOTION PASSED.

d. Welcome Visitors

Mark Neugebauer, R.P.L.S., L.S.L.S., Board Member; Jon Hodde, R.P.L.S., Advisory Member; Coleen Johnson, R.P.L.S., Board Member; Karen Friese, P.E., Board Member; Albert Cheng, Board Member; Roberto Moreno, P.E., Board Member; Catherine Norwood, P.E., Board Member; Kiran Shah, Board Member; Govind Nadkarni, P.E., Advisory Member; Bobby Balli, P.E., Advisory Member; Trena Vanderhoeven, Executive Director, Texas Society of Professional Surveyors; and Colby Brackin, S.I.T. and C.F.M. were present.

e. Public Comment

There were no public comments.

2. Nomination of Board Officers for Fiscal Year 2025

It was MOVED/SECONDED (Nejad/Adejokun) to recommend to the full Board at the Regular Quarterly Board meeting on August 8, 2024, to approve the following Board members as Board Officers for Fiscal Year 2025:

Vice-Chair: Coleen Johnson, R.P.L.S. Secretary: Karen Friese, P.E. Treasurer: Kiran Shah

3. Recommendation on Renewal of Contracts of Advisory Members for Fiscal Year 2025

It was MOVED/SECONDED (Nejad/Adejokun) to recommend to the full Board at the Regular Quarterly Board meeting on August 8, 2024, to approve the renewal of contracts for the following Advisory Members for Fiscal Year 2025:

- Lamberto Ballí, P.E.
- William Edwards, Ph.D., R.P.L.S., L.S.L.S.
- Edmundo Gonzalez, P.E., R.P.L.S.
- Jon Hodde, R.P.L.S.
- Govind Nadkarni, P.E.

4. Future Committee Meetings: Agenda items, dates, locations, and other arrangements

No issues were presented or addressed for consideration at the next Committee meeting.

5. Adjourn

It was MOVED/SECONDED (Nejad/Adejokun) to adjourn the meeting at 10:09 a.m.

A vote was taken, and the MOTION passed.

Note: In accordance with Attorney General Opinion No. GA-0957, dated July 27, 2012, this is notification that some Board members who are not members of the Nominating Committee may be present at this Committee meeting, thereby creating a quorum of the Board. This agenda does not authorize Board members, other than the Nominating Committee members, to deliberate or vote on matters before the Nominating Committee. All matters reported out of this Committee will be presented at a future Board meeting for deliberation and possible action.

The Committee may meet in closed session on any agenda item listed above as authorized by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Chapter 551.

Individuals needing auxiliary aids or services should contact the Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors at (512) 440-7723, in a timely manner.

Date Board approved minutes as submitted: 11/14/2024