Congratulations! You're Now a Professional Engineer. We’ll send you a physical pocket card, certificate of licensure, and welcome letter in the mail shortly.
To ensure compliance with Board Rules, these are your next steps:
Your seal/stamp imprint must be accepted by the board before any documents can be sealed. Within 60 days of licensure notification, Board Rule requires a licensed P.E. to:
A. Obtain a seal.
B. Place the seal imprint and photograph on the form.
C. Return the form to TBPE.
Failure to return an acceptable seal imprint and portrait within 60 days after the date of this notice is a violation of Board Rules and may subject the licensee to sanctions.
To have a seal/stamp made, check the internet or yellow pages in your city for "stamps and seals". Rubber stamps, impression seals, and electronic seals are all acceptable under Texas law. For your convenience, a copy of the seal artwork can be downloaded from our website at: State of Texas Licensed PE Seal
The Seal Vendor Form has all these specifics and can be taken to a selected vendor.
Once you have your seal, you need to prepare the seal imprint form. Place the seal imprint and a wallet-sized portrait photograph on the form. A copy of the form was mailed to you in your new PE Certificate Packet. An electronic version of the form is available at: Seal Imprint Form
The scanned form with printed seal can be emailed to: firstname.lastname@example.org However, forms using an impression or embossing seal must be mailed to the office at the address indicated below.
When your seal imprint form is received, it will be reviewed for accuracy and you will be notified by email if it is approved or if corrections need to be made.
Each license holder shall meet the Continuing Education Program (CEP) requirements for professional development as a condition for license renewal unless the license is in Inactive Status. New license holders are exempt for their first renewal period if the NCEES Principles and Practice of Engineering exam was taken within 1 calendar year of the license issuance date. Refer to this webpage for further information on the CEP: CEP Info
Each license holder shall notify the board in writing not later than 30 days after a change in the person's legal name, personal mailing address, or employment status. Changes can be made electronically online or in writing.
Each license holder shall notify the board in writing not later than 30 days after a misdemeanor or felony criminal conviction, or any sanction is imposed against a licensee by another state's engineering licensing board. Refer to the Criminal History Form to submit information.
Your annual license renewal date will be determined by when your license is issued. Typically, an initial license will be due for renewal approximately 9-11 months after initial creation as licenses cannot be current for more than a 12-month period. Expiration dates are quarterly and will be March 31, June 30, September 30 or December 31. You will be notified by email and by a mailed notification at least 30 days prior to your license expiration. Refer the P.E. License Renewal Webpage for additional information.
The Board is interested in improving the application process and values your opinion. If you would like to provide feedback to the Board regarding the licensure process, please use the following form: PE Application Survey